About Dark Machines

Dark Machines is a research collective of physicists and data scientists. We are curious about the universe and want to answer cutting edge questions about Dark Matter with the most advanced techniques that data science provides us with.

Events (Indico)

Leiden workshop poster

Accelerating the Search for Dark Matter with Machine Learning
Workshop @ Lorentz center, Leiden, The Netherlands
15 - 19 January 2018
Indico page for this event

Projects, datasets and challenges

We are currently investigating the following projects. More specific project information will be online very soon!
Do you want to contribute to one (or more!) of these projects, contact the conveners for that project.

Project
Particle track reconstruction with ML
Conveners: Fabian Gieseke (fabian.gieseke@di.ku.dk) and Michela Negro (michela.negro@to.infn.it)
Inclusive analysis of Fermi-LAT point sources
Conveners: Luc Hendriks (luc.hendriks@gmail.com) and Gabrijela Zaharijas (gabrijela.zaharijas@ung.si)
Project
Project
Exploiting the full information on DM signals contained in multi-wavelength and multi-messenger observations
Conveners: Christoph Weniger (c.weniger@uva.nl) and Fornengo Nicolao (nicolao.fornengo@unito.it)
Indirect detection & unsupervised learning
Conveners: German Arturo Gomez Vargas (gagomezv@gmail.com) and Roberto Munoz (rmunoz@uc.cl)
Project
Project
Strong lensing & unsupervised learning
Convener: Laurence Perreault Levasseur (lplevass@stanford.edu)
Collider searches & unsupervised: or supervised or not-yet-thought-off learning
Convener: Andrea De Simone (andrea.desimone@sissa.it)
Project
Project
Use cases for GANs
Convener: Gilles Louppe (g.louppe@uliege.be)
Exploring high dimensional parameter spaces
Conveners: Martin White (martin.white@adelaide.edu.au) and Joaquin Vanschoren (joaquin.vanschoren@gmail.com)
Project
Project
Learning dark matter distributions in galaxies
Conveners: Fabio Iocco (fabio.iocco.astro@gmail.com) and Francesca Calore (calore@lapth.cnrs.fr)

Researchers

Our collective currently consists out of the following people.

Loading...

Do you want to join us? See how to contribute for more information!

White paper

We are creating a white paper to organise the largest challenges in the search for Dark Matter and initiating the greatest ideas on how these can be solved with Machine Learning! Interested in contributing? Please contact us: Contribute

Mailinglist

We have a mailing list via which we communicate our latest news to everyone who wants to hear it! Do you want to stay informed about our work and efforts? Please consider subscribing.


Subscribe to the mailinglist

Contribute!

Do you want to contribute to our efforts? You can do this by adding to the white paper, by contacting one of the projectconveners to join one (or more!) of the existing projects or by initiating one yourself within the collaboration!

Interested or do you want more information? Send us a mail at news@darkmachines.org.


Website designed by Bob Stienen